Defining Focus

How focusing as it is defined would substantially change your day-to-day actions.


fo•cus (noun) – 1. the center of interest or activity. 2. the state or quality of having or producing clear visual definition. 

I know what you’re thinking. We all know what focus means. However, there are so many times that I misuse the word despite being crystal clear on the definition. I really don’t say “focus” out loud all that often but it is a constant inner-mantra that I repeat to myself nearly every day. Yet I am ashamed to admit that if I was actually focusing as it is defined then my day-to-day actions would look much different than they currently do.

There are countless times I have set goals for myself but have not kept the focus to accomplish them. “I am going to eat healthier.” “I am going to run a marathon” “I am going to limit alcohol.” These are some examples. Notice a trend? First, they are all so vague. Second, there is no plan to put into action so that they can actually be achieved. Without a plan, they aren’t truly goals and focus, by definition, is not possible.

True focus requires consistency. Just saying “I am going to eat healthier” doesn’t mean a whole heck of a lot unless there is a daily plan to focus on so that the ultimate goal can be accomplished. Goals are accomplished by staying focused day in and day out. You can’t conquer the macro without consistently conquering the micro.

By definition, focus is the quality of having or producing a clear visual definition. I am going to eat healthier is certainly not a clear visual definition. Planning your meals out for a week and executing that plan each day is a clear visual definition. If you execute that plan week after week and month after month then guess what? You are eating healthier.

Set a goal to accomplish this week. Not some vague idea but one that has a plan. Write down what you are going to do each day and check it off when you do it. Once you have given yourself a clear visual definition that you want to obtain then you can truly focus on its achievement. The journey of a thousand miles starts with the first step. You don’t have to map out the next thousand steps. If you accomplish small goals consistently, then it is only a matter of time before the big goal has been achieved. Let’s better versions of ourselves this time next week. Happy focusing!

Posted by

A lucky man. Also a lawyer. Classic oxymoron.

Leave a Reply

