Food is the New Influence

The documentary Forks Over Knives will really make you take stock of what you’re putting in your body.


Lately, I have really been taking stock of the things that I choose to put in my body. I am not extremely pleased with the results. Granted, I would consider myself to be a pretty healthy guy. This is attributable to my ability to follow a routine. Most of my days follow a certain pattern. (Breaking away from that was a big reason for starting this blog, but I digress). My food choices are no exception to the routine. Ninety percent of my days start with a bowl of oatmeal and a glass of Zija XM+ (if you don’t know what the is then please contact me!). My lunch is normally some type of protein bar, maybe some nuts and/or a piece of fruit. Dinner will consist of a protein (usually chicken) and a couple of vegetables. Of course, I splurge from time to time. A few pieces of pizza here. A couple scoops of ice cream there. But that is my diet for the most part. Not too bad, right?

Wrong. Those little splurges I have from time to time may very well be causing serious harm to my body. I recently watched the incredibly popular documentary Forks Over Knives for the first time. What an eye opener. In case you haven’t seen it, the film “examines the profound claim that most, if not all, of the degenerative diseases that afflict us can be controlled, or even reversed, by rejecting our present menu of animal-based and processed foods.” The documentary is centered around the results of decades of research performed by Dr. T. Colin Campbell and Dr. Caldwell Esselstyn.

While in the Philippines, Dr. Campbell discovered that the country’s wealthier children, who were consuming relatively high amounts of animal-based foods, were much more likely to get liver cancer. In a separate study, Dr. Esselstyn found that many of the diseases he routinely treated were virtually unknown in parts of the world where animal-based foods were rarely consumed.

Throughout the film, cameras follow “reality patients” who have chronic conditions from heart disease to diabetes. Doctors teach these patients how to adopt a whole-food, plant-based diet as the primary approach to treat their ailments – and guess what? It worked. Pretty incredible to say the least.

It isn’t breaking news that the U.S. consumes a whole lot of crap on a daily basis. Mutant Processed foods full of ingredients that are much better to suited to be in a lab fill our grocery shelves. Obesity, heart disease, and diabetes have become national epidemics.

What in the world are we doing? Could these problems actually be prevented and/or reversed by simply eating real food? I challenging myself to find out and I hope you will too. I am certain of one thing. Consuming real food and exercising regularly will cost us much less than medical care we’ll most likely need if we reject that lifestyle.


This post was in response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “______ is the new ______.”

Posted by

A lucky man. Also a lawyer. Classic oxymoron.

4 thoughts on “Food is the New Influence

  1. My wife and I watched that documentary. Then we read a blog review where a woman pretty much tore their conclusions to pieces. There are certainly good things about eating more veggies, but the conclusion that “animal-based diets” cause health problems is a BIG stretch.

    Like

    1. I thought the correlation between meat and disease in the film was very compelling. I am going to have to do some more research to formulate how I feel on this subject. Really interesting stuff.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think there’s a more credible link between processed/packaged foods and the rise of mostly fried, fast-food and the increase in cancer. The problem with drawing conclusions is that there are so many variables at work. So, at best, it’s an educated guess. I agree that if someone eliminates a lot of fat and varies the meat so that it’s not always high-fat red meat, and increases veggies and roots, they will be healthier. No doubt.

        Like

Leave a Reply

