Rolling to New Heights

The Rich Roll Podcast will change your life one episode at a time.


I find inspiration in a wide variety of places. I find it in the Bible and other religious texts. I find it in people that are close to me (my wife, my family, my friends). I find it in people who overcome huge obstacles to find a better version of themselves. I find it in athletes who perform athletic feats that seem impossible. I find it in myself when I reach a goal that I didn’t initially believe I could achieve.

The strength of the human spirit is all around us. We just have to look for it. That’s why I continue to look for stories of people and places that inspire me to better tomorrow than I am today. A week or so ago, I stumbled upon a podcast that has been yet another source of inspiration. The conversations that are featured multiple times per week on the Rich Roll Podcast leave me feeling like I can accomplish anything. This is a good thing. What makes it a great thing is that the conversations push me into a place where I am compelled to take action toward accomplishing a new goal.

Roll’s website bio begins by listing his accomplishments which are impressive. Rich is “a graduate of Stanford University and Cornell Law School, a 47-year old, accomplished vegan ultra-endurance athlete (one of the fittest men in the world) and former entertainment attorney turned full-time wellness & plant-based nutrition advocate, motivational speaker, husband, father of 4 and inspiration to people worldwide as a transformative example of courageous and healthy living.”

What makes him extraordinary, however, is his journey. Roll struggled with drug and alcohol addiction through his 20s and ultimately landed in rehab at 31. He got sober but soon found himself 50 pounds overweight and the furthest thing away from being the fittest man in the world. On his 40th birthday, Rich found himself barreled over in pain after walking up a simple flight of stairs. At that moment he decided to make a change.

The next day he dedicated himself to a vegan diet and began a strict running & swimming regimen. Two years later, 50 pounds lighter, and fueled by nothing but plants, he surprised the triathlon & ultra communities by not only becoming the first vegan to complete the 320-mile über-endurance event, but by finishing in the top 10 males (3rd fastest American) with the 2nd fastest swim split — all despite having never previously completed even a half-ironman distance triathlon. Roll has never looked back and the rest, as they say, is history.

Roll’s story is a perfect example of the often overused adage that it’s never too late. This guy totally turned his life around at 40. What’s our excuse for not becoming the best we can be? For most of us, it’s probably not a good one.

The Rich Roll Podcast features conversations between Rich and people with stories equally as inspirational as his own. Topics covered include health, fitness, nutrition, art, entertainment, entrepreneurship & spirituality with the most forward-thinking minds from their  respective fields.

I strongly recommend giving the podcast a listen the next time you’re in the car or on a run. Roll states that the goal of the podcast is to “inspire and empower you to discover, uncover, unlock and unleash your best, most authentic self.” It has most certainly had that effect on me.

Posted by

A lucky man. Also a lawyer. Classic oxymoron.

Leave a Reply

