What Would Johnny Do?

I have decided to write words about things. 


Welcome to my blog. I’m a thirty-something who calls Central Kentucky home where I live with my wife and our cat. I think after people turn the big 3-0 it’s natural to question exactly what it is we are doing with our lives. We need meaning. A purpose. We need something more than the wash, rinse, repeat world in which so many of us live. I know I do.

When I think of an authentic person, I think of Johnny Cash. He did and said what he wanted and to hell with what anybody else thought. That’s the kind of man I want to be. I believe that in order to live that way we need to find a true passion for something. I know that I have a passion for certain things. I’m passionate about my relationship with my aforementioned wife. I love sports (especially Kentucky basketball), exercising, and discovering my best path to overall health and wellness. I’m a religion nerd. I enjoy reading and writing (obviously), listening to music, and getting sucked into a great television series. See Breaking Bad, The Wire and Game of Thrones immediately if you haven’t done so already.

There are other things that I want to be doing with my life but for whatever reason I haven’t been doing them. I want to be stronger in my faith. I want to do more to help others less fortunate than I am. I just want to become the best version of myself that I can possibly be.

I started this blog as a catalyst to cultivate these passions, share them with others and to learn about myself along the way. My hope is that you will join me by finding your own path to your best, most authentic self. I am challenging us to find the one thing we were put on this earth to do and go after it. Anything less and we’re cheating ourselves. In the words of one of my favorite bands, The Avett Brothers, “decide what to be and go be it.”

I’m not exactly sure how this site will evolve. I am going to write about my life and subjects that interest me. My hope is that you will find something here that you relate to and enjoy. Thank you again for visiting my blog and if you’ve made it this far then I encourage you to join me on my journey to stop taking life for granted. It’s going to be a hell of a ride.

Posted by

A lucky man. Also a lawyer. Classic oxymoron.

Leave a Reply

